Multiple DUI Offenses
If this is not your first time being arrested for DUI, you may have one or more convictions for DUI on your criminal history. Depending on the number, the ramifications increase quickly. Once you have a DUI conviction, you are facing felony charges of DUI. Felony charges (and convictions) have serious dramatic lifelong consequences. Felony records can eliminate certain types of loans, impact your credit score and certainly impacts employability.
If you receive a second DUI within 10 years of your first conviction, the penalties will increase. The consequences for a second offense DUI are:
- $1,000-$4,000 fine.
- A prison sentence of up to 2 years.
- 3 year license suspension.
As a second time DUI offender, you will not have access to the Alcohol Education Program, which means that you will have to face the full consequences associated with this type of DUI.
An additional consequence that second time DUI offenders face is participation in the ignition interlock device program. An ignition interlock device is a device that is placed in cars, generally on the dashboard. This device is hooked up to your car’s engine, and you must blow into the device before driving it. If the device determines that your BAC is at a safe level for driving, the device will allow the car to start. If not, your car will not start, you will not be able to drive, and the authorities will be notified.
After the first year of your license suspension, your license can be restored, but only if you install an ignition interlock device in every vehicle that you operate for the remaining two years of the suspension. You are responsible for purchasing the ignition interlock device and paying for its upkeep. If it is found that you have driven a vehicle that does not have an ignition interlock device, if you have tampered with your device, or if you have asked other people to blow into the device to start your car for you, you face additional penalties.
If you are facing a third or subsequent DUI offense in the state of Connecticut, the penalties will increase from your second offense. The penalties for a third time DUI offense include:
- $2,000-$8,000 fine.
- A prison sentence of up to 3 years, one year of which cannot be reduced or suspended.
- Permanent revocation of your driver’s license.
These are the criminal penalties associated with first, second, and third DUI offenses in the state of Connecticut; however, you face separate consequences that the DMV can impose. To learn about these penalties, be sure to view our DMV hearing page. In order to defend yourself against the penalties listed above, it is in your best interest to consult with a DUI lawyer. For a free consultation in which you can do just this, you can contact our office here.